Welcome to My Blog

Sharing on asanas, sutras, meditations and other topics that I have experienced on this yogic journey. I hope you find them useful, thought-provoking or helpful on your own journey. Please leave a comment to share your own perspective.

Saucha, aka Cleaning Up Your Act

In one of my earlier articles, I wrote about the Yamas and Niyamas, yoga philosophy’s moral underpinings from the Sutra of Patanjali. This article will focus on one of the Niyamas (personal observences), Saucha, sometimes translated as purification or cleanliness....

read more

Mindfulness Meditation

In Patanjalii’s Yoga Sutras, the 8 limbs include Pratyahara (withdrawing the senses), Dharana (intense focus), and Dhyana (meditation, or the uninterrupted awareness). Each of these limbs is in essence some form of meditation. Meditation therefore is often a part of a...

read more

Alternate Nostril Breath (Nadi Shodhana)

A couple years ago, I spent an incredible month in Bali, adding to my yoga teacher tools. Imagine if you will, spending all day for a month practicing and absorbing teachings of yoga – it was amazing. Plus being in the spiritual center of Bali, Ubud, where each day...

read more

Yamas and Niyamas

Now Begins the Study of Yoga Over 2000 years ago Patanjali wrote the Yoga Sutras, 196 short statements that are considered the source of what yoga is about. In the Sutras, Patanjali explains that classical yoga has eight limbs, the first two of these limbs being the...

read more

Real Yoga According To Mary Byerly

I am not a revolutionary, nor a big risk taker. No, thank you, I do not want to do a handstand on the edge of a cliff, nor do I endorse anyone who does. I do tend to be more conservative in my actions, yet liberal in my outlook on life. I love the discipline of practicing all kinds of physical sports and I love the freedom of play. I like to understand how things work, and like to investigate things myself typically before I share them with others. I have been a music teacher, classical musician, consultant in the field of disabilities, a student of indigenous healing techniques, a horticulturist, and a yoga teacher. Though I have felt as though I did a fairly good job at all of the things I have done for my work, I will tell you that I have saved the best for last. I am a very good teacher of real yoga.

read more

My Favorite Sutra

My Favorite Sutra In my first teacher training, we, of course, had to study the Yoga Sutras. I think it was in our first weekend (we came together for long weekends every other month) we were assigned to begin reading this for the next weekend. So I went home, and...

read more